Listen Up!

Throughout this semester, I have been curious about if there were any library-related podcasts out there. Many of the additions to my P.L.N. so far have necessitated that I be sitting in front of the computer (or another technological device). What if I am sitting in my car though? I wanted to find a way to use my commute time productively and “podcasting allows time to catch up on professional subjects…librarians will find podcasts on subjects as varied as the collections they curate” (Thomas, 2016). Podcasts are easy to access. You can subscribe to and download most podcasts on iTunes, Google Play Music, Stitcher. A few are available to listen to through YouTube as well.


I searched Google for “Podcasts for Librarians” and found a great article titled, “Hearing Voices: Librarian-Produced Podcasts,” that exposed me to many relevant podcast channels. Here are some of the great librarian stations I found:

PERSONAL FAVORITE: LibUX

Circulating Ideas

BookRiot’s Dear Book Nerd

Cyberpunk Librarian

I listed LibUX as my personal favorite due to the amount of podcast topics that interest me as well as their site organization. I love that they break the content down by time so you can fast-forwards to the sections that draw your interest. Here’s an example of the LibUX breakdowns:

DON’T WISH FOR IT WORK FOR IT

Podcast episodes I have added to my playlist:

An Interview with Tim Spalding, the founder of LibraryThing (LibUX)

Why are Library Websites So Hard to Get Right? (LibUX)

Trends for Library Web Design (LibUX)

Love Your Reading Life (Book Riot’s Dear Book Nerd)

Digital Signage & How to Set It Up at Your Library (Cyberpunk Librarian)

“Picture This” – Sources for Free, Public Domain Images (Cyberpunk Librarian)

An Interview with Buffy Hamilton (Circulating Ideas) *I was ECSTATIC to find this episode, even though I have yet to listen to it. Buffy Hamilton publishes one of the blogs I love and reviewed here.


I would love to compile different podcasts playlists on my library webpage, some for teachers, some for students, some for parents. I could see students listening to a podcast playlist that reviewed different Young Adult books. If I pair this with Buffy Hamilton’s idea of having students record their own podcasts, I could create student-created, book review playlists for our school. Another way of incorporating podcasts into the school library is to involve the teen library council, if you have one. At our school (since it is joint-use), we have a Board of Library Teens that would love to be involved in a podcast project. You can ask teenagers to brainstorm topics that they think their peers would find interesting or relevant to their lives. If you have volunteers, you could even involve these teenagers in the creation process, “Teens can give book reviews, create library tours, city tours, or even record interviews with prominent residents of your community” (Jones, 2009). I am thinking of recording a few podcast book reviews myself. They can serve as a model for any student who might want to create one for the library, and give teachers ideas about how they can incorporate podcasts into their curriculum plans.

 

References

 

Jones, N. (2009). You’re on the Air! Podcasting with Teens at the Library. Voice Of Youth Advocates, 32(3), 200-203.

 

Thomas, S. (2016). Hearing voices: Librarian-produced podcasts. American Libraries. Retrieved from https://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/2016/01/04/hearing-voices-librarian-produced-podcasts/

Leave a Reply

