An Interest in Pinterest?

unnamed.png

Image source: Pinterest

Twitter and Facebook are obvious choices for collaboration through social media platforms. But Pinterest? Could Pinterest prove as viable an option for developing one’s Personal Learning Network?

I have a Pinterest page for my high school library that I use to promote our collection. I have one board that showcases new books we have just put onto the shelves. I have other boards that group books together by category. If I give a book talk, I usually have a Pinterest board that students can visit for more inspiration related to that particular topic. I also have created boards that correspond with a library display, accessible from a QR code available on the bulletin board or cabinet display.

I am going to experiment today with creating a Pinterest profile for my own professional development. This one will be all about my professional interests, not one geared for students as my audience.

My initial search brought me to a piece titled “The Educator’s Guide to Pinterest” by Sarah Muthler. She gives about ten suggestions of great pages for educators to follow, including one I immediately looked into: TedTalks. Yes, TedTalks has their own Pinterest page – with boards such as “Education“, “Technology“, “Infographics“, and “Books“. I followed each of those boards immediately. On their “Books” page, I found this video link to a short segment titled “How to Build a Fictional World”. I can see myself showing this to a student who is interested in writing novels.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 3.17.22 PM

Whether it’s an image, a video, or an actual TedTalk presentation, there is much to learn here. Plus, many of their pins are perfect for posting onto my library webpage or including as links on my library displays (through a QR code).

Interested in using Pinterest to develop your own P.L.N.? Check out some of these amazing Pinterest pages: CSLA,  YALSA ALA, American Libraries MagazineJunior Library Guild, Penguin TeenAmanda Barnhart, Regina Hartley, and Somers Library.

Somers Library’s page gives great ideas for how to group books – which comes in handy when brainstorming library displays or book talk ideas.

Amanda Barnhart pins some great book display ideas, as shown below (arrows at the bottom of image will allow you to click through the slideshow). Here are the links to two of her Pinterest boards dedicated to library displays: “Book Display Ideas” and “YA Themed Book Displays“.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are some great TedTalks videos I found while scouring Pinterest (interestingly enough, not through the TedTalks Pinterest page.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 4.00.30 PM

What to Expect from Libraries in the 21st Century: Pam Sandlian Smith

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 4.00.40 PM

Libraries: Present and Future           Chrystie Hill

I’m also interested in how Pinterest can be used as a collaboration tool. I would love it if the librarians in my school district all took pictures of their various library displays and posted it on a communal page (or perhaps on individual pages & we agree to follow each other’s boards). This would allow us to share ideas on displays. The same process could be used for us to gather ideas on library orientation, digital citizenship presentations, or other common lessons we would like to plan together. We could all pin ideas we find through Pinterest-ing and discuss these ideas when we gather for our monthly collaboration meetings.

Exploring Pinterest is the perfect solution when faced with a lack of inspiration. I found ideas related to library lesson delivery, school library advocacy, makerspaces, resource I can give to teachers, and blogging. I came across a TON of ideas for possible programs and library displays. I simply follow pinners or boards I find useful and browse my homepage to get inspired. If I have a particular query in mind, I type what I am looking for into the search bar and then browse the results. I can then organize these ideas onto different boards, making those saved ideas easily accessible for later research or use. To answer my earlier question – is Pinterest a viable option for developing one’s P.L.N.? – Yes!

The answer is yes.

Related Reading:

Here are some articles/webpages geared more towards how to use the Pinterest platform within your library than towards developing your P.L.N.

How to Use Pinterest for Your Library

20 Great Way Libraries are Using Pinterest

Promoting your Library through Pinterest

Pinterest as a Library Marketing and Information Literacy Tool

References

Muthler, S. (2015). The educator’s guide to Pinterest. Edudemic. Retrieved from: http://www.edudemic.com/the-teachers-guide-to-pinterest/

One thought on “An Interest in Pinterest?

Leave a Reply

